Getting Out to Dream Big

Image

It’s always easing saying, “Dream Big” and yes, everyone should but making all those big dreams turn into reality is harder when you don’t have much. Successful people always say that with perserverance, patience and belief in your dreams, you can make it. But it’s hard to just go out there and wing it when you don’t have that one thing that will get you to the starting line: money.

I know a lot of people came from nothing to success and they are actually the people that I look up to because they are able to make it even through rugged paths. But not everyone has enough rugged experience in life to be able to survive everything. I feel like all my life I have been in the ‘in-between’ and whenever I try to move forward, at some point, there will always be something to pull me backwards.

Sometimes I wished I had grown up in a more liberated country because having my life as it is now, I feel like I could have made it more independent if I wasn’t here. Because then, I think I would have gone out on my own at an early age. Here, it’s quite impossible since everything is about status, at least that’s what I grew up to learn.

I have learned to accept my life because I have realized that I cannot wave a magic wand for everything to change but I also want to be able to change the life I have now. I don’t want to be forever stuck of always feeling bad, of having people who don’t care and understand around you, of feeling insecure and especially feeling weak. Years ago I would have included feeling alone in that list but after having experience the feeling of loneliness, I have learned to embrace it and let myself feel that being alone doesn’t have to be bad and that it doesn’t last forever.

People will always misjudge me, misunderstand me, and never get along with me but I don’t want to waste my life away trying to be perfect for somebody, trying to be somebody’s friend, trying to just be accepted. I’ve been to that ‘trying-too-hard’ stage and it doesn’t make you feel better, it sucks as a matter of fact.

Dreams are rooted with one’s faith, patience, perserverance and imagination. And before, I always thought that I needed to get tons of money to be able to make what I want to happen, and in a way, it’s true but I don’t want my life to be all about the money and forget the dreams. 

I want to be able to dream and live BIG even if all I’ll ever have is just enough, and often times not enough but that’s why people wing it: trying to make whatever they just have and just making it.

I used to think that money could solve everything but now I realize it won’t, but I have also learned that I need to get out, just leave, to be able to get to where I want to be. And somehow, someday not far away anymore, I might just do it. Just leave and start being happy.

Leave a Reply

